Lawmaker on Virginia shooting: colleagues were ‘screaming for reinforcements’

The Republican, a witness to the attack on a baseball field in Alexandria, described it in detail to CNN

The Alabama congressman Mo Brooks gave a witness account to CNN about the shooting in Alexandria, Virginia, on Wednesday morning:
I was on deck about to hit batting practice on the third base side of home plate and I heard a loud “bam”, and I look around and behind third base and the third base dugout, which is cinderblock, I see a rifle. And I see a little bit of a body and I then hear another “blam” and I realize that there’s an active shooter.

At the same time, I heard Steve Scalise over near second base scream, he was shot, he’s our majority whip. The gun was a semi-automatic. It continues to fire at different people. You can imagine all the people on the field scatter. I run around to the first base side of home plate. We have a batting cage that’s got plastic wrapped around it to stop foul balls, and hide behind the plastic. You know the plastic’s not real good. And I was lying on the ground with two or three others as gunfire continues.

Continue reading…

Leave a Reply

